Greater Miami (FL) Chapter of The Links, Incorporated has a very illustrious and significant history.  The chapter officially began when the three ingenious and charming organizers, Maude K. Reid, Mayme E. Williams and Susie W. Francis, united with fifteen other women to form the chartering group.  Their installation ceremony was held at 2:00 p.m. on Saturday, November 5, 1955 at the Carver Hotel in Overtown.


Charter members of Greater Miami (FL) Chapter of The Links, Incorporated are Eloise K. Bannerman, Alma F. Brooks, Charlotte F. Clarke, Lugusta Colston, Louise Davis, Gussie M. Dobbs, Constance Douglas, Linnie Fannin, Susie W. Francis, Bernice Kemp, Hulda Lyttle, Theoria T. Houston, Dora Patterson, Maude K. Reid, Walton Y. Robinson, Margaret Styles, Mayme E. Williams and Mary F. Williams.  Greater Miami (FL) Chapter was sponsored by the Orlando, Florida Chapter and installed by Georgia Schanck, Southern Area Director.


During its 65 glorious years, Greater Miami (FL) Chapter has made significant contributions to the community and the national organization.  In 1964, the chapter hosted the 14th National Assembly of The Links, Incorporated in Nassau, Bahamas, marking the first time in the history of the organization that it met outside of the United States and in 1988, co-hosted the 26th National Assembly in Miami Beach.  The chapter also co-hosted the 42nd Southern Area Conference in Miami with Dade County (FL) and Miami-Biscayne Bay (FL) Chapters in 2013.


Greater Miami (FL) Chapter has the distinction of having several members contribute to the accomplishment of the goals of The Links, Incorporated at the area and national levels, most notably:  Maude K. Reid, 5th Southern Area Director (1965-1969) and Member, National Nominating Committee (1978-1982); Regina Jollivette Frazier, 9th National President (1986-1990), National Vice President (1984-1986) and 9th Southern Area Director (1981-1984); and Anne Turner Herriott, 19th Southern Area Director (2015-2019), Southern Area Secretary (2011-2015) and National Chair, Chapter EstablishmentGwendolyn H. Welters served as National Director of International Trends and Services (1984-1986) and Southern Area Chair (1980) for this facet as well; Renée Shaw Jones, Southern Area Financial Secretary and Chair, Awards/Recognition (2015-2019) and Marcia M. Anderson National Chair, Technology (2015-2018).


There have been numerous honors for Greater Miami (FL) Chapter and its members throughout the years, including the recognition of Congresswoman Frederica S. Wilson, U.S. House of Representatives, District 24, in 1996 with the Catlett Award, the highest award of the national organization in the facet area of Services to Youth for her founding of the 5000 Role Models of Excellence Project.  This premier mentoring program was also recognized by the Southern Area in 2013.  Greater Miami (FL) Chapter is continuously recognized for its array of transformational programs, which form a linkage with national program facets:  Services to Youth, The Arts, National Trends and Services, International Trends and Services and Health and Human Services.